woodchucks, earthquakes, & the apocalypse

Well, yesterday was an interesting day! First off, I was grounded all day– so I didn’t blog. Second, we had an earthquake. Third, we just might be headed toward the end of the world. Other than that, I suppose all systems are normal.

Let’s start with the reason why my master took away my Internet privileges. I doubt most humans will understand this, but, you see, there was this woodchuck… and digging for woodchucks is much more important than coming when called.

It took almost an hour, but I got that ‘chuck. I took it home to show everyone, and — bam!– grounded! Next time, I’ll stay away until I’m totally done with my business.

Next, the earthquake. It was about 2 in the afternoon here in northcentral Pennsylvania when things started moving. I was in the kennel. My master was on the porch. My first thought was that something had gone terribly wrong (again) with the wells on the wellpad next door. My master knew it was an earthquake, though. Not that that was much reassurance.

But things stood standing, and no real damage occurred. We were rather far from the epicenter, so I’m surprised we felt anything at all. After I heard that Colorado experienced its biggest quake in 40 years just a few hours before, it DID make me think, though…

… are we headed toward the end of the world?

Seriously. Read these excerpts, and tell me what you think:

25 “There will be signs in the sun, moon and stars. On the earth, nations will be in anguish and perplexity at the roaring and tossing of the sea. 26 People will faint from terror, apprehensive of what is coming on the world, for the heavenly bodies will be shaken.” (Luke 21:25-26)

6 “You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. 7 Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be famines and earthquakes in various places. 8 All these are the beginning of birth pains.” (Matthew 24:6-8)

and, for those looking for a bit of humor this morning, remember this:

9 Better to live on a corner of the roof
than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.” (Proverbs 11:9)

 

About adamaecompton

just a three-legged rescue dog, bloggin about critical citizenship, the environment, and all sorts of literacy.
This entry was posted in Powerful Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to woodchucks, earthquakes, & the apocalypse

  1. b says:

    Dear Ada, that part about the quarlesome wife was unnecessary!

Leave a Reply

