When all else fails…

Got some plain old terrible news yesterday that’s not related to the natural gas industry… and it got me thinking… I’m a pretty lucky dog– or blessed, perhaps is a better way to put it. When major things in life go wrong, it’s so easy to get caught up in a downward spiral of negativity… how to combat it?

Be ye thankful. Seriously.

I am blessed to have been picked up from the vet after my leg was amputated and I was abandoned.

I am blessed to have a master who loves me regardless of my antics and bandwidth usage.

I am blessed to be living on a wonderful estate at the moment.

I am blessed to have a human family that loves each other just as much as they love me.

I am blessed to never have to worry about where my next meal is coming from.

I am blessed to have a super-fly cabin to hang out at whenever I want.

I am blessed to be in good health regardless of how many legs I have.

I am blessed to have thousands of online readers who offer support and encouragement.

I am blessed to have a great car to ride in whenever we take a road trip.

I am blessed with a million happy memories of a million happy times regardless of what’s going on right now in my life.

I am blessed that I am not a cat.

I am blessed that I have a mind that is sharp and an attitude that is positive.

I am blessed to have known Pennsylvania before it takes a nose-dive.

I am blessed to have a wonderful cousin like Elsa who loves to play and romp around.

I am blessed in so many other ways, too, I’m sure. These are just a few… the ones on the top of my head this morning. I encourage you, human friends, that whenever life turns sour, and then gets even more rotten after that– whenever you feel pressed in on every side– remember that there are still some things to be thankful for.

It might not feel so much like a consolation, but just do it anyway– write down a few of the things that you can look at and say, “This is good.” And then, keep your eyes out for more things to write on that list. As my great grandma would say, “All things work together for good…”

About adamaecompton

just a three-legged rescue dog, bloggin about critical citizenship, the environment, and all sorts of literacy.
This entry was posted in Popular Stuff, Powerful Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When all else fails…

  1. Laurie@Ward says:

    I’m glad that you take time to smell the roses sometimes. We all need to do that! Thanks for a wonderful article. I will make my own list to look at on occasions when I hear a gas truck go by.

Leave a Reply

